~disclaimer~ This blog has been created by independent residents of Oregon who have participated in numerous OR adoptions and are familiar with current OR adoption law from first hand experience, both birth parents and adoptive parents. This group is OPPOSED to hb 2904. This group is not sponsored by any other group, third party organization, non profit, for profit, adoption or other such agency, and/or legally organized adoption related affiliation. We are just passionate citizens using our voice!

You are, of course, entitled to formulating your own opinions about hb 2904 and to then act accordingly.
Blog In Progress: soon to come:
~More suggestions on how to use your citizen voice.
~Where did this bill come from? and info behind the writing of HB2904.
~Why don't we like it? While the purpose of this blog is one of information, and not opinions, we feel that we should at least explain ourselves and our opposition to hb2904.

Saturday, February 5, 2011

I dont live in OR [anymore], who do I contact?

I have personal experience with adoption in OR, 
but I don't live there [anymore], 
therefore, I don't have an Oregon state Representative to contact. 
Who can I contact about my opposition to this bill?

Contact members of the House Human Services Committee -
Rep. Vic Gilliam, Rep. Carolyn Tomei, Rep. Lew Frederick, Rep. Jim Thompson, Rep. Mitch Greenlick, Rep. Chris Harker, Rep. Julie Parrish and Rep. Jim Weidner.

Contact members of the Joint Committee on Ways and Means
this is where the bill currently is sitting in the legislative process.
Sen. Richard Devlin, Co-Chair, Rep. Peter Buckley, Co-Chair, Rep. Dennis Richardson, Co-Chair, Sen. Betsy Johnson, Vice-Chair, Rep. Bill Garrard, Co-Vice Chair, Rep. Nancy Nathanson, Co-Vice Chair, Sen. Alan C Bates, Sen. Chris Edwards, Sen. Fred Girod, Sen. Rod Monroe, Sen. David Nelson, Sen. Chuck Thomsen, Sen. Joanne Verger, Sen. Doug Whitsett, Sen. Jackie Winters, Rep. E. Terry Beyer, Rep. Jean Cowan, Rep. Tim Freeman, Rep. Betty Komp, Rep. Tina Kotek, Rep. Mike McLane, Rep. Mary Nolan, Rep. Greg Smith, Rep. Kim Thatcher, Rep. Gene Whisnant.

to find the contact information for the representatives, go HERE and click on 'state representatives listed alphabetically' under Representative Information in the middle of the page.